IMES

مايو 6, 2021

رمضان كريم: أفكار للمسيحيين حول الانخراط مع المسلمين في رمضان

بقلم عبد الكريم زين الدين المسلمون حول العالم في الأسبوع الأخير من رمضان. كثير من المسيحيين الذين أعرفهم، ولا سيّما الإنجيليين، لا يميلون للتعامل بصورة إيجابيّة مع المسلمين. الإسلام والمسلمون غالبًا ما يُصوَّرون بصور نمطيّة وتتم شيطنتهم في أعين المسيحيين. لكن لماذا؟ وكيف نهتم بجيراننا المسلمين، خاصة في شهر رمضان؟ […]
أبريل 29, 2021

القرارات الصعبة والانسجام الصحي: استعارة التفكير في المهن كـ”فرقة موسيقيّة”

بقلم كيس فان دير كنيف الاحتياجات في العالم هائلة، والاحتياجات في الشرق الأوسط صاعقة، والاحتياجات في لبنان في الوقت الراهن ساحقة. ككنائس وأفراد مؤمنين، يقدّم هذا لنا قرارات صعبة. فكيف نحدّد أين يجب أن نساهم في مجتمعاتنا؟ وكيف نقرّر أين لا نضيّع وقتنا وطاقتنا ومواهبنا؟ طوّرت جميع التقاليد المسيحية تقريبًا […]
أبريل 15, 2021

الإكليسيولوجيا الحركيّة: إعادة تقويم الكنيسة تأهبًا للحدود التالية

بقلم وريك فرح وآلان هيرش لا شكّ في أنّ الله كان يعلّمنا شتّى أنواع الدروس الجوهريّة خلال العام المنصرم. ربّما كانت جائحة كوفيد-19 الحدث الأكثر تخريبًا للكنيسة منذ الحرب العالميّة الثانية وقد أُجبر القادة المسيحيون في جميع أنحاء العالم على إعادة تقييم تفكيرهم وممارساتهم. وقد أثيرت الكثير من التساؤلات المشكّكة […]
مارس 18, 2021

هل المجتمعات “الديمقراطية” تتعلم الكثير من اللبنانيين؟

بقلم باسم ملكي نرى في هذه الأيّام أشخاصًا في مجتمعات “ديمقراطيّة” يختارون اتباع القادة الذين يمثّلون مصالحهم الشخصيّة بدلاً من القادة الذين يتماهون مع هويّة البلد الأوسع. يجب أن يعيد الناس طرح السؤال على أنفسهم عمّا إذا كانوا سيبحثون عن قادة يناسبون القيم التي تمثّل مجتمعاتهم أو سيكيّفون قيمهم لتتناسب […]
مارس 11, 2021

إعادة التفكير في الإرسالية الشهادة المسيحيّة في الشرق الأوسط

بقلم مايك كون هذا الخط الذي يتوسّط كلمة “الإرساليّة” في العنوان هو متعمّد. أتخيّل أنه بالنسبة لمعظم قرّاء هذه المدوّنة، تثير كلمة “إرساليّة” دلالات إيجابيّة حول العطاء الباذل والمآثر البطولية للمرسلين في الحقبة الماضية. أنشأ المرسلون البروتستانت الأوّلون في الشرق الأوسط المدارس والمستشفيات والكنائس التي لا زالت تؤثّر في المجتمع […]
مارس 4, 2021

أستطيع

بقلم سميرنا خلف مغبغب “لا يمكنني أن أتحمّل أكثر من ذلك.” “لقد مللت من كلّ شيء.” “ما زلت على هذا النحو منذ حوالي العام.” أعلم أنّ الكثيرين قد سمعوا هذه الجمل أو قالوها أو فكّروا بها في الأشهر الماضية. في الآونة الأخيرة، بات طفلاي يعبرّون مرارًا وتكرارًا عن إحباطهم من […]
ديسمبر 23, 2020

رسالة ميلادية من كليّة اللاهوت المعمدانية العربية

تتمنّى لكم كليّة اللاهوت المعمدانيّة العربيّة ميلاد مجيد! لتبارككم تأمّلات أعضاء مجتمعنا في هذا الموسم تريزا صفير المُحرِّرة وموظّفة التّواصل “وعلى الأرض السّلام”، هذا ما قالته الملائكة الرّعاة. هل بشّروا بالسّلام العالمي مع مجيء المسيح؟ قد تختلف السّنوات الـ 2020 الماضية بهذا الشّأن. في الإصحاح الأوّل من إنجيل متّى، يذكر […]
ديسمبر 17, 2020

تقرير ندوة محادثات الشّرق الأوسط 2020 -نظرة كتابيّة للآخَر: الإسلام، القرآن، ومحمّد

 نظرة كتابيّة للآخَر: الإسلام، القرآن، محمدّ هو كتاب جديد تمّت صياغته مع أخذ هذه الوقائع بعين الاعتبار. يتضمّن الكتاب مجموعة مقالات مأخوذة من المحادثات السّابقة التي استضافها معهد دراسات الشّرق الأوسط، والتي تغوص غمار الحاجة إلى فهم لاهوتي متطوّر للإسلام وأصوله ونصّه المقدّس. يقدّم هذا الكتاب نسيجًا ذا حبكة متينة […]

IMES

May 6, 2021

Ramadan Kareem!: Thoughts for Christians about Engaging Muslims this Ramadan

By Abed El Kareem Zien El Dien Muslims around the world are in the final week of Ramadan. Many Christians I know, and Evangelicals particularly, are not positively inclined toward Muslims. Islam and Muslims are widely demonized and essentialized in their eyes. But why and how can we care about […]
April 29, 2021

Of Difficult Decisions and Healthy Harmonies: The Potential of Thinking About Vocation in Terms of ‘Ensemble’

By Kees van der Knijff The needs in the world are immense, the needs in the Middle East are staggering, and the needs in Lebanon at the current moment are overwhelming. As churches and individual believers, this presents us with difficult decisions. For how do we discern where to contribute? […]
April 15, 2021

Movemental Ecclesiology: Recalibrating Church for the Next Frontier

Warrick Farah and Alan Hirsch There is no doubt that God has been teaching us all kinds of key lessons over the last year. The COVID-19 pandemic has been probably the most disruptive event for the Church since WWII and has compelled Christian leaders across the globe to re-evaluate their […]
March 18, 2021

Are “Democratic” Societies Learning Too Much from the Lebanese?

By Bassem Melki These days we are seeing people in “democratic” societies choosing to follow leaders who represent their own personal interests rather than leaders who identify with a country’s wider identity. People must ask themselves again if they will look for leaders who fit the values representing their communities […]
March 4, 2021

I Can

By Smyrna Khalaf Moughabghab “I can’t take it any longer.” “I’m bored of everything.” “I’ve been like this for one year.” I know many have heard these sentences or have said them or have thought about them in the last months. Recently, my children have been expressing more frequently their […]
December 23, 2020

A Christmas Message from the Arab Baptist Theological Seminary

The Arab Baptist Theological Seminary wishes you a wonderful Christmas! May the following reflections by members of our community bless you this season.   Teresa Sfeir Communication and Editing Officer “On earth peace,” the angels told the shepherds. Were they heralding world peace with the advent of Christ? The past […]
December 16, 2020

Middle East Conversations 2020 Webinar Report- The Religious Other: A Biblical Understanding of Islam, the Qur’an and Muhammad

We live at a time when religious diversity has become a fact of life in our globalized societies. Yet Christian engagement with Muslims remains complex, complicated by fear, misunderstanding and a history fraught with political and cultural tensions. With acts of religiously motivated violence filling our headlines and religious discourse […]
December 9, 2020

Talking Non-Christian Religious Experiences: Avoiding Compromise and Demonization for the Sake of the Good News and Social Peace

By Tim Brys A few years ago, I was left rather shaken when confronted with the fact that Christians are not the only ones to enjoy deeply meaningful religious experiences. Consider for example the following account that I read in William James’s classic work, The Varieties of Religious Experience. James […]